Hymn for World Peace

Hymn for World Peace 2017-03-10T18:15:42+00:00

Project Description

Wind Ensemble
12 min.
Grade 5

Buy Score and Parts


Listen Now

Clarence High School Symphonic Band, Louis Vitello, cond.
live recording

Preview Score


Picc Fl-2 Ob Cl-3 BCl CbCl ASx-2 TSx BSx Hn-4 Tpt-3 Tbn-2 BTbn Euph Tuba DB Pno Timpani Perc-5

  • Piccolo
  • Flute (2)
  • Oboe
  • Clarinet in B♭ (3)
  • Bass Clarinet in B♭
  • Contrabass Clarinet in B♭
  • Alto Saxophone (2)
  • Tenor Saxophone
  • Baritone Saxophone
  • Horn in F (4)
  • Trumpet in B♭ (3)
  • Trombone (2)
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Double Bass
  • Piano
  • Timpani
  • Required Percussion (5 players)
    • Vibraphone
    • Marimba
    • Orchestra Bells
    • Crotales
    • Xylaphone
    • Suspended Cymbal (lg)
    • Snare Drum (2)
    • Tom-tom (sm)
    • Bass Drum (2)
    • Crash Cymbals
    • Tam-tam
For wind ensembles and concertos, please use one player per part. For symphonies and concert pieces, more players may be used as desired. David’s full statement.

Commissioned by

Commissioned by the Clarence (NY) High School Symphonic Band, Louis Vitello, conductor, and is dedicated to them with warm thanks and appreciation. The commission was made possible through the generous support of the Clarence High School Band Boosters in celebration of the 50th annual Concert at Kleinhaus Music Hall in Buffalo, NY


3 August 2014, Missoula, MT

Program Note

The title, “Hymn for World Peace,” came from the simple thought that if we want world peace, we can begin as individuals to ask for it. Music making opens hearts and creates peace in individuals and communities. This is a powerful step as musicians that we can take.

Program note by David Maslanka

Further Reading

Maslanka Weekly: Best of the Web – Tribute

6 August 2018|0 Comments

Maslanka Weekly highlights excellent performances of David Maslanka’s music from around the web. This week, we remember the life of David Maslanka and Alison Matthews with unforgettable performances of Symphony No. 4, "Song for Alison" from Song Book for Alto Saxophone and Marimba, and Symphony No. 10: The River of Time.

  • David Maslanka shakes Li Fangfang's hand after a performance of Symphony No. 4 by the Beijing Wind Orchestra at the National Center for the Performing Arts.

Maslanka in China

6 August 2016|0 Comments

David Maslanka shakes the hand of Li Fangfang after a powerful performance of Symphony No. 4 by the Beijing Wind Orchestra at the National Centre for the Performing Arts. Li invited David to participate in the 2016 Asia Pacific Band Directors Association Conference.