Concerto for Marimba and Band

Concerto for Marimba and Band2019-10-09T22:25:15+00:00

Project Description

Solo Marimba and Wind Ensemble
20 min.

Buy Solo Part
Buy Piano Reduction
Buy Score
Rent Parts

Listen Now

University of Arizona Wind Ensemble, Gregg I. Hanson, cond., Drew Lang, Marimba
On the album Maslanka: Concertos (2000)

See Available Recordings

Preview Score

We cannot display this gallery


Solo Mar | Picc Fl-3 Ob-2(2»EH) EbCl Cl-3 BCl CbCl Bsn-2 Cbsn ASx-2 TSx BSx | Hn-4 Crt-3 Tpt-2 Tbn-2 BTbn Euph-2 Tuba-2 | Vc-3 DB | Hp Timp Perc-3

  • Solo Marimba
  • Piccolo
  • Flute (3)
  • Oboe (2), (2 doubles English Horn)
  • Clarinet in E♭
  • Clarinet in B♭ (3)
  • Bass Clarinet in B♭
  • Contrabass Clarinet in B♭
  • Bassoon (2)
  • Contrabassoon
  • Alto Saxophone (2)
  • Tenor Saxophone
  • Baritone Saxophone
  • Horn in F (4)
  • Cornet (3)
  • Trumpet in B♭ (2)
  • Trombone (2)
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium (2) (sub. Baritone if needed)
  • Tuba (2)
  • Violoncello (3)
  • Double Bass
  • Harp
  • Timpani
  • Required Percussion (3 players)
    • Vibraphone
    • Bass Drum
    • Snare Drum
    • Crash Cymbals
    • Tom-toms (4) (2 bongos, med. tom, tenor drum)
    • Xylophone
    • Suspended Cymbal (3 lg.)
    • Gong (med.)
    • Sleigh Bells
    • Glockenspiel
    • Crotales
    • Tam-tam
    • Ratchet
    • Chimes
For wind ensembles and concertos, please use one player per part. For symphonies and concert pieces, more players may be used as desired. David’s full statement.

Commissioned by

The United States Air Force Band, Washington D.C.


8 November, 1990 by the United States Air Force Band, Steven Grime, conductor, Randall Eyles, solo marimba, for the Percussive Arts Society Convention in Philadelphia, PA.

Program Note

This piece has more the nature of a fantasia than a classical concerto. It is in two large halves, the first very quiet and serene, devoted to rhapsodic melody and transparent textures, and the second starting with a huge dynamic build up and then moving through a relatively brief spurt of fast and fierce music before settling to a quiet and transcendent close.

Program note by David Maslanka

Notes for performers

This concerto was scored for the specific forces of the U.S. Air Force Band. The Air Force Band features three cellos. The cello sound is important to this score but the parts have been cued into other instruments for the convenience of bands that do not have cellos available to them.

This concerto was written for a five-octave marimba. Passages using the low octave may be adapted for smaller instruments. No amplification is needed for the marimba. 

The solo marimba part has been edited by Randall Eyles.

Further Reading

Maslanka Weekly: Best of the Web – No. 106, Dances

30 June 2020|0 Comments

Maslanka Weekly highlights excellent performances of David Maslanka’s music from around the web. This week, we feature three compositions in which David experiments with dance forms: Montana Music: Three Dances for Percussion, Concerto for Clarinet and Wind Ensemble, and Concerto No. 2 for Piano and Wind Ensemble.