UFO Dreams: Concerto for Euphonium and Wind Ensemble

UFO Dreams: Concerto for Euphonium and Wind Ensemble2019-05-27T16:45:21+00:00

Project Description

Solo Euphonium and Wind Ensemble
17 min.

Rent Performance Materials

Listen Now

Matthew Maslanka, Euphonium, Hellgate High School Wind Ensemble, John Combs, cond.
live recording

Matthew Maslanka, euphonium, Georgia State University Symphonic Winds, Robert J. Ambrose, cond.
live recording


Preview Score

We cannot display this gallery


Solo Euph | Picc Fl Ob BbCl-3 BCl CbCl Bsn ASx-2 TSx BSx | Hn-2 Tpt-2 Tbn-3 Euph Tuba | Pno Timp Perc-4

  • Solo Euphonium
  • Piccolo
  • Flute
  • Oboe 
  • Clarinet in B♭ (3)
  • Bass Clarinet in B♭
  • Contrabass Clarinet in E♭
  • Bassoon
  • Alto Saxophone (2)
  • Tenor Saxophone
  • Baritone Saxophone
  • Horn in F (2)
  • Trumpet in B♭ (2)
  • Trombone (3)
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Piano
  • Timpani
  • Required Percussion (4 players)
    • Vibraphone
    • Crotales
    • Xylophone
    • Orchestra Bells
    • Slap Stick
    • Snare Drum
    • Suspended Cymbal (2 sm., 1 med., 1 lg.)
    • Hi Hat Cymbal
    • Tenor Drum
    • Bass Drum
    • Chimes
    • Wood Block (sm.)
    • Triangle (2 sm.)
    • Bongo (sm.)
    • Crash Cymbal
    • Gong (lg.)
    • Tam-tam
    • Sizzle Cymbal
For wind ensembles and concertos, please use one player per part. For symphonies and concert pieces, more players may be used as desired. David’s full statement.


  1. Fantasy Variations: “The Water is Wide”
  2. Home Planet – where do you come from? who are you?
  3. Variations: “From the Bottom of my Heart”

Commissioned by

and dedicated to the Hellgate High School Wind Ensemble (Missoula, Montana), John H. Combs, director


29 January 1999, Missoula, Montana

Program Note

In brass-player slang, the euphonium is the “eupho.” I have punned this into “UFO,” giving it an altogether different twist. I wanted to throw our “life-on-earth” experiece into sharp relief by suggesting a cosmic origin and connection for the human spirit. In any case, my son Matthew, for whom this piece was written, is convinced that I am from another planet!

The concerto is in the traditional three movements. The first is based on the English folk song “The Water is Wide.” This is a beautiful song that my wife used to sing to the children when they were very young. The movement consists of two sets of variations on the melody, separated by a central digression. The second movement – “Home Planet – Who are you? Where do you come from?” – is a dream of distant origins. My choice of this title is still a mystery to me, but it feels quite right. The last movement is again a set of variations, this time on a melody from the bach Chorale book. The title of the tune is “Aus meines Herzens Grunde” (“From the Bottom of My Heart”). The music is bold and spirited, and expresses my wish for Matthew’s life and cosmic journey.

Program note by David Maslanka.

Further Reading