Maslanka Experiences: Sam Ormson

Playing Symphony No. 9 with a high school band
was supposed to be impossible.

Featured WorksRecent WorksSee all works >

Featured recordingsSee all recordings >
Recent articles

January Update

Midwest 2015

Maslanka Press exhibited at the Midwest Clinic in Chicago this past December for the first time. We were excited to welcome so many enthusiastic friends to the back corner of the McCormick Center. We expect this to be […]

8 Questions for David Maslanka

The following is from an email exchange with Natasha Rotondaro, a grade 12 student from Emily Carr Secondary School in Vaughn, Ontario
Natasha Rotondaro: What is your musical background?

David Maslanka: I began clarinet studies at age nine. As a high […]

Maslanka Experiences: Sam Ormson

This is a guest post from Sam Ormson, director of bands at Mountain View High School, Vancouver, Washington. We asked him to talk about his experiences with David’s music. He shared this remarkable essay.
June 2015: 1st movement, Symphony 9. […]

Accessible Works, Updated Music, and WASBE 2015 Wrap-up

Works for Younger Wind Ensembles
We’ve just posted a two-part series going over David’s more accessible works for wind ensemble. Read part 1, talking about how directors might think about selecting new music and part 2, a listing (in order of difficulty) of […]

See all articles >

Congratulations and a heartfelt thanks to Dr Tim Mahr and the St Olaf band on their spectacular premiere of ANGEL OF MERCY at Carnegie Hall. Extraordinary! ... See MoreSee Less

1 week ago

Matthew Marsit of Dartmouth College just shared the poster for the upcoming visit and concert on February 21.
More info:
... See MoreSee Less

1 week ago

View on Facebook

See older items on David’s Facebook page