Loading Events
This event has passed.

Dartmouth College Wind Ensemble
For Scott

Matthew M. Marsit, conductor

Three premieres and guest choral singers in a touching tribute to a stellar musician.

Igor Stravinsky Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments, Gregory Hayes, soloist
Kevin Krumenauer For Scott (world premiere)
Yasuhide Ito As Time is Passing On (US premiere)
David Maslanka Symphony No. 10 (East Coast Premiere)

A tribute to the late Scott Smedinghoff, whose brilliant pianism lit up concerts by the wind ensemble and others, this program includes three premieres—world, US and East Coast!—and, for the work by Ito, a guest chorus of singers from Vermont and New Hampshire who made music with Smedinghoff during his life.

Marsit leads student and select community musicians through an exciting array of repertoire for the wind ensemble, from the 19th century to today, including many world premieres. The ensemble’s inventive thematic programming is often coupled with educational components and projects to engage young musicians and audiences alike.